Crookneck Squash Chips

This summer is flying by and it has been so busy I’m afraid this blog has been neglected!  Today I have a fast and summery recipe on my mind. Seems like summer squash is often available in incredible quantities, especially if you are growing them. A friend gave me a boxful of yellow crookneck squash and I determined they would not go to waste! So I tried making dehydrated chips out of some of them. Ithink they turned out quite edible. You can easily vary the flavor – so try them out and see what you think!

Wash the squash very well and remove the stem end and a thin slice off the blossom end. Slice about 1/8th of an inch thick. Because squash are so high moisture, if you slice them any thinner (like with a mandolin) they end up sticking to the dryer and falling apart when you try to get them out.

Toss with a little olive oil and seasonings of your choice. Here are some of the things  I tried:

  • salt
  • chicken style seasoning
  • paprika and garlic powder and salt
  • seasoned vegetable salt.

I think the chicken was my favorite but all were good. Dry them at about 130°F until crispy. Remove them and immediately place them in airtight container, like a canning jar with lid and ring. They absorb moisture quickly and will lose their crispness if allowed to sit before packaging.

I also dried some plain and plan to throw them into tomato sauces and vegetable soups randomly.

Leave a Reply

