Almond Milk

This is such an easy and tasty way to have an alternative to dairy or soy milk, I can hardly believe it! I usually use soy milk on dry cereal or hot whole grain cereal at breakfast, but I ran out the other day and decided to make a nut milk instead. I grabbed a handful of raw almonds, added water and a few seasonings, and voilá! yummy milk. Here is how I did it and we really liked it –

Place in blender:

  • 1/2 cup of raw almonds (if you don’t have a high power blender, soaking them several hours or overnight will make it easier on your machine and is recommended)
  • About 3/4 – 1 cup of warm water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • Sprinkle of salt
  • Sweetener to taste ( I used 2 Tbs. of Cane Juice Crystals)
  • Blend thoroughly till smooth and not gritty in texture. Add enough cold water to make 4 cups total.

You may use immediately or refrigerate in lidded jar for several days. The almond solids will settle out, so stir before pouring. If you prefer a whiter milk (my photo is milk made with whole, raw almonds, skin and all) you can blanch the almonds first to remove the skins and then use them in the milk. Also, you may choose to strain the milk to decrease the amount of solids that settle out, but I actually didn’t have any problem with using it as is. I was surprised how few almonds were needed to make a nice tasting “milk” – it makes it pretty economical. Feel free to tweak the amount of water (I’ve made as much as 6 cups of milk with this quantity of almonds, but it was on the thin side) that you add at the end.

 

 

 

One thought on “Almond Milk

  1. Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site …http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

